Methodology
From “Deutsche Hypo Immobilienkonjunktur-Index” …

The real estate sector is a key element of Europe’s economies. As one of the most important industries in the economy it accounts for a significant proportion of value added. Despite the importance of the real estate sector for overall economic development, a regular, comprehensive and up-to-date economic analysis of the industry had not been present for a long time.

Against this background, bulwiengesa AG has been publishing the Deutsche Hypo Real Estate Economy Index since January 2008, which offers a picture of both the real estate climate and Germany’s real estate economy. Its advantages include a long-term comparison, monthly publication and faster availability than official statistics. The index enables predictions about future developments in the German real estate market and serves as an early indicator for economic turning points in the real estate sector.

… to the Deutsche Hypo European Real Estate Economy Index – REECOX

In recent years, there has been increasing cross-border investment, with a preference for portfolio transactions. Knowledge of developments in individual real estate markets is therefore increasingly important for portfolio management.

Pan-European portfolio strategies require pan-European benchmark indicators

That is why, from April 2018, the Deutsche Hypo Real Estate Economy Index will be expanded to include the five most important European real estate markets. Along with Germany, it will include the United Kingdom, France, the Netherlands, Poland and Spain. The Deutsche Hypo Real Estate Economy Index is also designed to add further countries with ease.

With the inclusion of the European Real Estate Economy Indices in April 2018, the Real Estate Climate and Real Estate Economy Index were moved to two separate platforms.

  • The Real Estate Climate, a survey of 1,400 German market experts similar to the “ifo-Konjunkturtest”, but focused on the real estate sector, is now available from a separate website, www.deutsche-hypo-immobilienklima.de.
  • From April 2018 onwards, the European Real Estate Economy Indices for Germany and five additional European countries will be available at www.reecox.de, or through the URL by using the respective country code for the United Kingdom, France, the Netherlands, Poland and Spain.

This expansion means that Deutsche Hypo’s indicators will make an even greater contribution to market transparency in the German and European real estate sector. As this information was not previously available in this form, the index has become a benchmark for the industry since its introduction.

How are the Real Estate Economy Indices calculated?

The Real Estate Economy Indices for the individual countries are based on macroeconomic metrics, which are generally available for each real estate market and allow for analysis of the economic situation. That makes a retrospective perspective on the development of the individual Real Estate Economy Indices possible.

The quantitative early indicators are derived from the development of the following input variables in the respective countries:

  • Leading share index
    • Germany: DAX
    • UK: FTSE 100
    • Poland: WIG 20
    • Netherlands: AEX 25
    • France: CAC 40
    • Spain: IBEX 35
  • Real estate share index or equivalent
    • Germany: DIMAX
    • UK: FTSE EPRA/NAREIT UK
    • Poland: WIG Developers (NIER)
    • Netherlands: FTSE EPRA/NAREIT Netherlands
    • France: FTSE EPRA/NAREIT France
    • Spain: ES BCN 5 Property
    • The latest valid monthly value is used
  • Indicator of economic sentiment
    • Economic Sentiment Indicator (ESI) of the European Commission by country
  • Basic interest rate
    • Basic interest rate pursuant to Section 27 German Civil Code (Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch - Germany) or bulwiengesa’s basic interest rate derivatives based on the benchmark rate of the ECB/central banks
  • Risk-free interest rate
    • Long-term government bonds (10 years) of the respective country

While the input variables leading share index, real estate share index and indicator of economic sentiment are always based on the most recent data available (closing price of the final working day of the previous month or previous month’s value), the variable basic interest rate and the risk-free interest rate are based on the previous year’s figures (12-month offset). This unique methodology is based on the knowledge that changes in interest rate structure do not have an impact on economic relationships in the real estate sector and activity in the real estate market until later.

The group of economic input variables (leading share index, real estate share index and indicator of economic sentiment) and the group of interest rate variables (basic interest rate and risk-free interest rate) are equally weighted.

It is important to bear in mind that the resulting weighting is not used directly on the five input variables themselves, but rather on their standardised values. Standardisation is necessary in order to guarantee the comparability of the individual input variables with regard to their mean value and volatility prior to aggregation. Otherwise, variables with a relatively high characteristic amplitude would dominate the performance of the overall indicator (i.e. the nominal weighting or the weighting called for by the methodology would not correspond with the actual contribution of each input variable to the overall indicator).

Due to the standardisation of the input variables, it is not possible to directly derive the REECOX from the monthly changes in these variables. As a result, more pronounced swings in individual input variables may sometimes not be reflected directly in the REECOX.

The monthly changes are nevertheless presented to help visualise changing conditions, making it possible to provide a forward-looking opinion on future developments in advance.

Additional information:

With the introduction of the European real estate economy indices, the calculation method for Germany was harmonised. The historical data was therefore amended retroactively, resulting in slight differences in the detailed analysis compared to old publications. The character of the information and our statements are not affected.

The data for some input variables is subject to regular seasonal adjustment. As a result, past values may be adjusted marginally. The values in past publications may therefore deviate slightly.


What is the REECOX Real Estate Eye?

The Real Estate Economy Indices are calculated each month and shown on the website. They are published quarterly in the form of a report with explanatory notes. The results are comparable at a glance thanks to the REECOX Real Estate Eye.

The REECOX Real Estate Eye not only shows the comparative current values for the individual Real Estate Economy Indices (length of the iris), but also size of the respective investment markets, which is expressed by the width of the iris and is based on the long-term average of institutional real estate investment in the respective country.

What is the Deutsche Hypo Euro Score?

To show the overall development of the European real estate economy at a glance, the individual countries are also used to calculate a compact score for the whole of Europe: the Deutsche Hypo Euro Score. This value accounts for the real estate economy for the individual countries, taking into account the various countries’ importance for the investment market. That prevents a very high real estate economy score from having a disproportionate impact on the Euro Score if the market is comparatively small.

Methodik
Von der Deutschen Hypo Immobilienkonjunktur …

Die Immobilienwirtschaft ist maßgeblicher Bestandteil der europäischen Volkswirtschaften. Allein in Deutschland stellt die Immobilienwirtschaft über 2,8 Mio. sozialversicherungspflichtig Beschäftigte oder umgerechnet rund 10 % der Mitarbeiter in fast 790.000 Unternehmen. Sie ist somit einer der bedeutendsten Wirtschaftszweige und trägt mit einem Anteil von knapp 19 % (434 Mrd.) maßgeblich zur Bruttowertschöpfung bei. In den anderen europäischen Wirtschaftsräumen sieht es nicht anders aus – insbesondere in Ländern mit einer langen Historie eines institutionellen Investmentmarkts für Immobilien wie dem Vereinigten Königreich. Doch trotz der Bedeutung der Immobilienwirtschaft für die gesamtwirtschaftliche Entwicklung gab es lange keine umfassende und regelmäßige sowie aktuelle konjunkturelle Branchenanalyse.

Vor diesem Hintergrund veröffentlicht die bulwiengesa AG seit Januar 2008 den Deutsche Hypo Immobilienkonjunktur-Index, in dem neben dem Immobilienklima auch die Immobilienkonjunktur Deutschlands abgebildet wird. Dessen Vorteile liegen in der langen Zeitreihe, der monatlichen Publikation und der schnelleren Verfügbarkeit im Vergleich zu amtlichen Statistiken. Der Index ermöglicht es, Aussagen über die zukünftigen Entwicklungen am deutschen Immobilienmarkt zu treffen und dient als Frühindikator für konjunkturelle Wendepunkte in der Immobilienwirtschaft.

… zum Deutsche Hypo Real Estate Economy Index – REECOX

In den letzten Jahren wurde immer mehr Kapital grenzüberschreitend und bevorzugt in Portfoliotransaktionen investiert. Zur Portfoliosteuerung wird es daher immer wichtiger zu wissen, wie sich die Immobilienwirtschaften in den einzelnen Märkten entwickeln.

Pan-europäische Portfoliostrategien benötigen pan-europäische Benchmark-Indikatoren

Aus diesem Grund wird die Deutsche Hypo Immobilienkonjunktur ab April 2018 um die fünf wichtigsten europäischen Immobilienmärkte ergänzt. Hierzu zählen neben Deutschland: Großbritannien, Frankreich, Niederlande, Polen und Spanien. Die Deutsche Hypo Immobilienkonjunktur ist so ausgelegt, dass weitere Länder problemlos hinzugefügt werden können.

Mit Einführung der europäischen Immobilienkonjunktur im April 2018 wurden Immobilienklima und Immobilienkonjunktur auf zwei unterschiedlichen Plattformen platziert.

  • Das Immobilienklima, die Befragung von 1.400 deutschen Marktexperten ähnlich des ifo-Konjunkturtests speziell für die Immobilienwirtschaft, ist ab sofort auf der eigenständigen Webseite www.deutsche-hypo-immobilienklima.de zu finden.
  • Die Immobilienkonjunktur für Deutschland sowie für weitere fünf europäische Länder finden sich ab April 2018 auf www.reecox.de bzw. der URL mit den jeweiligen Länderkennungen von Großbritannien, Frankreich, den Niederlanden, Polen und Spanien.

Die Indikatoren der Deutschen Hypo leisten mit dieser Erweiterung einen noch höheren Beitrag zur Markttransparenz im Bereich der deutschen und europäischen Immobilienwirtschaft. Da es diese in dieser Form zuvor nicht gegeben hat, haben sie sich seit ihrer Einführung als Benchmark-Indikator für diesen Wirtschaftszweig entwickelt.

Wie berechnen sich die Immobilienkonjunkturen?

Die einzelnen Länder-Immobilienkonjunkturen berechnen sich auf Basis makroökonomischer Kennzahlen, die generell in jedem Immobilienmarkt zur Verfügung stehen und eine Analyse der konjunkturellen Lage ermöglichen. Aus diesem Grund ist eine rückblickende Betrachtung auf die Entwicklung der einzelnen Immobilienkonjunkturen möglich.

Zur Konstruktion der quantitativen Frühindikatoren werden die Entwicklungen folgender Eingangsvariablen in den jeweiligen Ländern herangezogen:

  • Aktien-Leitindex
    • Deutschland: DAX
    • Großbritannien: FTSE 100
    • Polen: WIG 20
    • Niederlande: AEX 25
    • Frankreich: CAC 40
    • Spanien: IBEX 35
  • Immobilien-Aktienindex oder Äquivalent
    • Deutschland: DIMAX
    • Großbritannien: FTSE EPRA/NAREIT UK
    • Polen: WIG Developers (NIER)
    • Niederlande: FTSE EPRA/NAREIT Netherlands
    • Frankreich: FTSE EPRA/NAREIT France
    • Spanien: ES BCN 5 Property
    • Herangezogen wird der letztgültige Monatswert
  • Konjunktureller Stimmungsindikator
    • Economic Sentiment Indicator (ESI) der Europäischen Kommission nach Land
  • Basis-Zinssatz
    • Basiszinssatz nach § 247 BGB (Deutschland) bzw. Basiszinssatz-Derivate von bulwiengesa basierend auf dem Leitzins EZB/Landesbanken
  • Risikoloser Zinssatz
    • Langjährige Staatsanleihen (10 Jahre) des jeweiligen Landes

Während für die Eingangsvariablen Aktien-Leitindex, Immobilien-Aktienindex und Konjunktureller Stimmungsindikator immer der aktuellste verfügbare Wert herangezogen wird (Schlusskurs des letzten Arbeitstags des Vormonats bzw. Vormonatswert), werden für die Variablen Basis-Zinssatz und Risikoloser Zinssatz die Zahlen des Vorjahres verwendet (Versatz von 12 Monaten). Dieser methodischen Besonderheit liegt die Erkenntnis zugrunde, dass sich zinsstrukturelle Veränderungen erst mit Verzögerung in den immobilienökonomischen Zusammenhängen und damit auch in der Immobilienkonjunktur niederschlagen.

Die Gruppe der wirtschaftlichen Eingangsvariablen (Aktien-Leitindex, Immobilien-Aktienindex und Konjunktureller Stimmungsindikator) und die Gruppe der Zinsvariablen (Basis-Zinssatz und Risikoloser Zinssatz) sind gleich gewichtet.

Es ist wichtig zu beachten, dass die resultierenden Gewichte nicht direkt auf die fünf Eingangsvariablen selbst angewendet werden, sondern auf ihre standardisierten Werte. Eine Standardisierung ist notwendig, um die Vergleichbarkeit der einzelnen Eingangsvariablen in Bezug auf ihren Mittelwert und die Volatilität vor der Aggregation sicherzustellen. Andernfalls würden Variablen mit relativ hoher charakteristischer Amplitude die Entwicklung des Gesamtindikators dominieren, d. h. die nominalen bzw. methodisch vorgesehenen Gewichte würden nicht dem faktischen Beitrag jeder Eingangsvariable zum Gesamtindikator entsprechen.

Durch die Standardisierung der Eingangsvariablen ist eine direkte Ableitung des REECOX aus den monatlichen Veränderungen dieser Variablen nicht unmittelbar möglich. Daher kann es gelegentlich vorkommen, dass stärkere Ausschläge einzelner Eingangsvariablen nicht unmittelbar im REECOX abgebildet werden.

Um sich verändernde Rahmenbedingungen zu visualisieren, werden die monatlichen Veränderungen dennoch dargestellt. Dadurch ist eine vorausschauende Einschätzung zukünftiger Entwicklungen bereits im Vorfeld möglich.

Ergänzende Hinweise:

Mit der Einführung der Europäischen Immobilienkonjunkturen wurde die Berechnungsmethodik für Deutschland angeglichen. Dies bedeutet, dass die historische Zeitreihe retrograd angepasst wurde und im Detail geringfügige Veränderungen im Vergleich zu alten Publikationen aufweist. Der Charakter und die Aussagen bleiben vollständig erhalten.

Einige Eingangsvariablen unterliegen einer regelmäßigen Saisonbereinigung der Daten. Daher werden zurückliegende Werte marginal angepasst. Die Werte zurückliegender Publikationen können daher leicht abweichen.


Was ist das REECOX-Immobilienauge?

Die Immobilienkonjunkturen werden Monat für Monat berechnet und auf der Webseite angezeigt. Auf Quartalsebene werden sie in Berichtsform mit erläuternden Kommentaren veröffentlicht. Die Ergebnisse sind dabei auf einen Blick durch das REECOX-Immobilienauge vergleichbar.

Das REECOX-Immobilienauge zeigt dabei nicht nur den aktuellen Wert der einzelnen Immobilienkonjunkturen im Vergleich zueinander an (Länge der Iris), sondern auch die Größe der jeweiligen Investmentmärkte. Diese wird in der Breite der Iris ausgedrückt. Dahinter steht der langjährige Mittelwert des institutionellen Immobilien-Investmentmarktes im jeweiligen Land.

Was ist der Deutsche Hypo Euro-Score?

Um auf einen Blick zu sehen, wie sich die europäische Immobilienkonjuntur als Ganzes entwickelt, werden die einzelnen Länder-Immobilienkonjunkturen noch in einem kompakten Score-Werte für ganz Europa angezeigt: dem Deutsche Hypo Euro-Score. Dieser Werte verrechnet die einzelnen Länderimmobilienkonjunkturen unter Berücksichtigung der Investmentmarktbedeutung der einzelnen Länder. So wird verhindert, dass eine sehr gute Immobilienkonjunktur über Gebühr in den Euro-Score einfließt, wenn die Marktgröße relativ gering ist.